Society for Peace Studies and Practice is a Not-for-Profit organisation that promotes non-violent approach to conflict resolution, through multi-level research, advocacy and actions that strengthen local capacities that will bring about a sustainable culture of peace. The Society began as the brainstorm of a group of passionate advocates of the postgraduate programme of the Peace and Conflict Studies, Institute of African Studies, University of Ibadan, in 2003 seeking to prioritize conflict management as a professional practice and how to streamline the ethics that will guide scholars and practitioners in the field of peace building.


Initially spearheaded by staff and student members from the University of Ibadan led by Professor Isaac Olawale Albert; the Society was formally initiated and registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC/IT/NO.21194) as a Not-For-Profit Civil Society in 2004 and has gained national outlook and acceptance with its network of branches spread all-over Nigeria and beyond.


SPSP formalized its structure, mission statement, and membership procedures in order to fully support the evolution of a culture of peace and other ongoing efforts related to sustainable development; including supporting countries in developing action plans to reduce violence, conflicts and wars. Since its founding, SPSP has established a procedure that allows for quick action, with transparent and trusting collaboration from diverse partners; who consistently support attainment of our goal-objectives, as enshrined in our constitutional mandate and defined through a process of consistent dialogue with members during the Society’s mandatory Conferences and General Assembly held annually.


The success of the Society for Peace Studies and Practice is derived from its interactive and shared Vision and Mission of its founders, members and stakeholders who ensure that the dream is transformed into reality at the country level and beyond boundaries. Our Vision, Mission, Goal and Objectives are clearly spelt out below: The National Working Committee is a nine member executive elected every 3 years by popular ballot into various positions. Elections are conducted at the State Branch every 3years. The Society is operated at four different levels in the following hierarchy: